top of page

Two Songs From One Composition

If you know me, it is obvious that I love to write music. I began by learning guitar when I was around ten years old and from that moment I began trying to write my own songs. I am now turning 23 next month, making this almost thirteen solid years of consistent music composition. I never wanted to do anything else with my musical skills. I did not have much interest in learning other artist's songs or even performing, I just wanted to write. This pushed me to pursue audio engineering and become as well versed in as many different instruments as I could. I knew this would be necessary if I wanted to actually make a career out of my passion.

So how far have I come? Well my most recent solo project seems to be a pretty good milestone of my progress. For this project I began by reproducing one of my old songs. This has always been a fun and productive exercise for me as It allows me to really focus on the production of the work and allows me to see how far I have come since the last time I recorded the song. This song is called Secrets of Our Past and is an acoustic guitar driven song. Heres a picture of the finished session in both views:

What makes this project so unique is that I even took it a step further. I have begun to learn Ableton Live, a very intuitive and versatile software for music production. After doing some initial research and playing around a whole lot I decided to go and try to make a remix of the song I just reproduced. I must say, I learned so much from deciding to push through this. Even though I may not be the next Ableton god I definitely feel that I have a grasp on how to use this software and I can, if necessary, add this to my list of ever growing tools for ghost writing. Here are some pictures from the session:

I really am quite pleased with the outcome of both of these tracks. The instrumental version came out a level above the last run through I did, which was about a year ago. On top of this I made a huge jump into unknown territory learned so much about a new software and produced a halfway decent piece of music as well. As I go forward I plan to start listening to more electronic based music so that I have more to reference as I build remixes and general electronic tracks. In the near future I hope to be able to say I can write and produce any genre for my clients.

This will conclude this weeks blog post. Keep up to date with my work by following me on Facebook!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page