top of page

Here Is The Plan, The Real Introduction

So as of last week I have made the move to become a resident of Portland, ME. This is where my short term goals will unravel into the long term evolution that is my career. In this case location is key. For those of us that live in Maine we know for a fact that the state is not the most culturally thriving place to be. However, I know that I am not the only one that has witnessed the potential for this city to grow on a cultural level. This is why I have made the initial decision to call this city my home.

Image from { http://www.portlanddailyphoto.com/2014_04_01_archive.html }

What have I been doing? what is my skill set?

After graduating with my degree in audio engineering, I began working with a local wedding band (Wavelength) mixing sound for them in a live environment. This allowed me to open my mind to another outlet of the audio engineering skill set besides recording. All along I have also been doing some studio sessions to keep up with my recording skills. These two outlets have begun to open some doors and create a small but quickly growing network around the Southern Maine area.

So here is my plan:

As the network grows I want to bridge the gap between a band's/artist's studio recordings and their live performances. By creating a relationship with multiple live venues in the area I hope to be able to promote the bands that I record by also giving them a place to play once they have created their demo.

This will give local musicians the opportunity to not only get a studio recorded demo/album, but it will also allow them to begin or further their public performance experience.

The circulation and promotion does not stop here. Allowing these musicians to build their portfolio and fan base in the Southern Maine area is only the first step. There are even more workflow options that I could incorporate to this process to promote these artists online via social media (Facebook, Youtube etc.).Ultimately I want all of this local and online promotion to be a complementary service to the recording of the musicians work. I am in this for the cultural growth of the Southern/Central Maine music community. If this means that I need to get a part time job so that I can continue to offer affordable methods for talented musicians to thrive in this area, I am all for it. I believe it all shows so much potential. Brining powerful music into peoples lives is something that I am so passionate about. I know I can help set a higher standard for local music here in Southern Maine.

If you are interested in getting in the studio, building your bands portfolio and finding better places to perform. Send me an email on my contact page, I would be happy to sit down and discuss your needs over a coffee.

Thanks for your time,

Jake Avery Susla


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page