top of page

KiefCatcher EP #2


This week I have begun mixing the 2nd Extended Play record for the band KeifCatcher. KiefCatcher is a band from Burlington, Vt that writes music in the style of their Doom Metal predecessors Sleep and Black Sabbath. This is the second recording of theirs that I have had the pleasure to mix. Mixing this type of music is enjoyable and challenging as it really makes you utilize all aspects of the mixing process, while also allowing the practice of creative techniques.

Photo Provided by KeifCatcher

Because I am from Portland, ME I did not get the opportunity to spend time with this group in the studio during the recording process. The group called upon Charlie Hill a local of Burlington and friend of the band to take care of the recording process. From here I received the tracks and got to work!

So let's talk about the mix so far. The instrumentation includes rhythm and lead guitars, bass, drums and vocals. I always start the mix with the rhythm section as I find it helps create and solidify the base of the track so that you can build the instrumentation more effectively when adding the melodic instruments and vocals. The most important aspects of mixing the rhythm section that are worth mentioning is the frequency separation between the kick and bass. This is vital because both direct sounds take up a large portion of the lowest frequencies in the mix. Both are necessary in holding the rhythmic movement of the song, so I always make sure they do not intrude to much into each others sonic space. The other technique that I have found very helpful in mixing a live recording of drums and bass is adding a decent amount of bus compression. What this does is help dynamically mold the rhythmic accents of each instrument for a more moving mix.

Once I have a general mix for the rhythm section I move on to the lead instruments. While mixing a generally loud genre such as Metal it is important to not let your levels creep up on you or you will find the master fader clipping (not good!). So before I even add in the lead instruments I like to bring down the rhythm section a few decibels to give the mix some more head room. Just like any I always color code my tracks (Warm colors for rhythm cool colors for lead)

mix, from here I will add eq and dynamic processing where needed. One interesting thing that I like to do if the guitars are to prominent in the mix is add micro-delays as to give the vocals some more space up front. By doing this you also separate the guitars from each other without needing to make significant pan adjustments to the direct source. This is a process I have utilized heavily on these mixes as the guitars have a very big and fuzzy sound and do not sonically cooperate with the vocal on their own.

These are some of the processes that I am utilizing in mixing KeifCatcher's Ep. The mixes are still in progress, but he date of release is set for sometime in May. If you're a fan of some heavy riffing keep an eye out for this one! I will be sure to make some noise about it on its release.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page